Download Chesterfield Fire Department : The Original Thirteen Departments – Sr. David C. Creasy pdf
Chesterfield Fire Department The Original Thirteen Departments by David C. Creasy, Sr. contains 112 pages of history and unique images of the Chesterfield, Virginia Fire Department. Chesterfield County was formed in 1749 but it was not until 1928 that the first volunteer fire department was organized. Twelve more independent volunteerßO fire departments followed in the years to come. These departments formed the foundation for what would later become the Chesterfield County Fire Department. This book chronicles their organization and growth in those early years. It also describes how they would come together in forming the Association of Chesterfield Fire Departments. Read how this group's efforts truly improved fire protection in the county and started the process of becoming one department. Pictures, many never before published, capture much of this history and illustrate some of Chesterfield Fire Department's firsts : – The first fire stations for each volunteer fire department – The first motorized fire unit (1931) – The first fire department ambulance (1952) – The first aerial ladder (1961) – The ground breaking for the fire training center (1962) – The first Fire Alarm Headquarters (1967) – The first diesel powered apparatus (1969) – The first yellow fire apparatus (1970) A portion of the proceeds from this book are being donated to the Chesterfield Fire and EMS Memorial Wall located at the Earnes-Pittman Building in the Chesterfield Government Complex. May we never forget those individuals that have made the ultimate sacrifice in the performance of their duty.
Author: Sr. David C. Creasy
Pages: 112 pages
Size: 26.56 Mb